Review: Hunted

Hunted

by Meagan Spooner

Stars: 4 out of 5

Source: Won from Shanah from Bionic Book Worm

She has an awesome blog! If you haven’t already checked it out, you definitely should.

Description:

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

Review:

In this beauty and the beast retelling, I felt like it was almost more philosophic than romantic as I’m used to it. I still enjoyed reading the story though. The writing was well done and Yeva’s story kept me engaged.

“I will call you Beauty, for that is what you are.”

What I liked:

  • Asenka, Yeva’s sister. There’s something about her that really drew me. I wouldn’t mind reading her story even though it’s pretty much wrapped up in this book. She was an interesting character that left me wanting to get in her head.
  • There are little notes from the beast in between certain chapters, and I really enjoyed reading these. The insights into his thought process was engaging.
  • Yeva is tough and has great skills with the bow and arrow that grow through the book. I didn’t felt like her character changed much through the book though, just her skill set.
  • Yeva’s father. I really liked him and the thoughts Yeva has of him. The quotes she thinks of are always good ones and help tie the story together nicely.
  • The setting was well done, what with all the winter surroundings. The snow and crisp winter air were well described. Made me want to go crunch some snow underfoot. Luckily, it’s spring so it’s actually nice and warm after I got done reading parts of this chilling read.

What I didn’t like:

  • The romance was minimal. It’s the biggest reason I knocked off a star. The book was much more about Yeva and her journey than her falling in love. With a description that it has, it shouldn’t be a surprise, but it still had me wanting more from the love department.
  • The pacing was mostly good, but there were a few spots I found myself able to put the book down and not have a pressing need to come back to it. That’s never a good sign, but despite this, I still really enjoyed the read.
  • I thought there would be more to the end. Once it gets there, everything is rushed through. If it was a problem of the book being too long, there were some other spots I felt like could have been cut or shortened from the book to be able to lengthen the end.

“She moves like beauty, she whispers to us of wind and forest—and she tells us stories, such stories that we wake in the night, dreaming dreams of a life long past. she reminds us of what we used to be.

She reminds us of what we could be.”

All in all an enjoyable read. Also, I forgot to mention, I liked the cover, then I received the book in person and it’s even prettier. All shinny and what not. Fits well with the setting inside the book. Anyway, I would recommend this for someone who wants a different take on Beauty and the Beast without a lot of romance.

Have you read this book? What did you think? Do you want to read this book? Why?

14 thoughts on “Review: Hunted

  1. I’m SOOO glad you ended up liking it! I felt the same way about the ending. It felt abrupt and like all the loose ends fit together too nicely and were tied too quickly. And I loved her sisters so much!!

    Like

  2. Great review! I’ve been itching for Beauty and the Beast retellings since the live-action film came out (and I just can’t bring myself to try A Court of Thorns and Roses yet…) so I definitely think I will be checking this one out!

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award Pt…2! – Book Princess Reviews

  4. Pingback: Mailbox Monday: April 24, 2017 | The Book-Filled Day

  5. I’m glad I read your review first, because I was anticipating a lot more romance. Which is totally fine, but I think I’ll like it more, if I know that going in. Definitely bumping it up on my to-read list!

    Like

    • Yeah, I think I would have liked it more knowing that going into it too, just because I expect a lot of romance with Beauty and the Beast, but that’s okay. I hope you enjoy it when you get around to reading it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

