Review: Heir of Illaria

Heir of Illaria

The Illaria Series #1

by Dyan Chick

Source: Bought ebook

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Description:

In Illaria, there is a fate worse than death.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been taught to fear the Necromancer King. He controls the kingdom of Illaria with dark sorcery and the constant threat of his undead army. I never thought I’d have reason to cross his path. Everything changed the day his guards tried to kill me. That’s when I found out my whole life has been a lie. By joining a resistance group called the White Ravens, I’ve claimed new roles. Princess of Illaria, sorceress in training, and threat to the Necromancer King.

Review:

Doesn’t that first line of the blurb just grab you? It totally did me. I found this book from Teacher of YA. She has some great reviews, so if you’re not already following her, you should be!

I really enjoyed this book! Was it perfect? No, but then no book is. With how much I enjoyed the book, I was easily able to overlook any minor problems I had with it.

What I liked:

  • The cover is gorgeous! I totally love it!
  • Wilona’s character growth is great. At the beginning of the book she bugged me a little, but it totally fit her personality and where she was coming from. Then as the book progressed, so did she. It was fun watching her grow.
  • The action scenes were fun to read!
  • I love the world Dyan Chick created. It was a creepy world, one I wouldn’t want to spend any time in until it got fixed up, but perfect to read about.
  • I enjoyed Wilona’s love interest. He was there without being too much or too little.
  • The magic was interesting to read about. I wanted a little more explanation about it, but I’m sure that will come in later books. I liked seeing the growth of magic throughout the book.
  • Saffron. Can I just say she kicks butt? But there’s more to her than just being a tough chick. I really enjoyed her character.

What I didn’t like:

  • My biggest complaint is that the book moved too fast. That’s why I knocked off a star. I wanted more time with everything, but it rushed by so swiftly, I had a hard time keeping up with it. It does make for a quick read though. More details would have really made it.
  • The ending. *Spoiler Warning* I wanted to know why the villain thought his plan would work. Why did he think Wilona would agree to marry him? Totally didn’t get that, and I wanted a clearer explanation of what was going through his mind.  I know that he had her grandmother brought back from the dead, but that didn’t seem like enough of a reason for me. *End of Spoiler Warning*

Overall, this was a great book. An excellent debut novel! I highly recommend it to any YA Fantasy lover that wants a quick read.

Have you read the book? What did you think? Do you have plans to read the book? What interests you about it?

11 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Illaria

Leave a Reply

