Book Beginning: April 7, 2017

I’m joining Book Beginning this week. It looks like a great way to meet new bloggy friends. Feel free to leave a comment and say hi or link up to your blog and I’ll pay a visit.

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Every Friday share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.


“Leaves rustled behind me. I pulled my dagger from its sheath on my wrist and held my breath, frozen in place.”

And this week’s book is:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Heir of Illaria

by Dyan Chick

Description:

In Illaria, there is a fate worse than death.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been taught to fear the Necromancer King. He controls the kingdom of Illaria with dark sorcery and the constant threat of his undead army. I never thought I’d have reason to cross his path. Everything changed the day his guards tried to kill me. That’s when I found out my whole life has been a lie. By joining a resistance group called the White Ravens, I’ve claimed new roles. Princess of Illaria, sorceress in training, and threat to the Necromancer King.

My thoughts:

The first line by itself is kind of boring, but add in that second line and I’m hooked. When I saw the first line of the blurb, I knew I had to read it!

I’m working on it right now, and am barely into it. It’s good so far, but I’m anxious to get more out of it and to see some character growth. Best get back to it!

What do you think of thefirst two lines of this book?

2 thoughts on “Book Beginning: April 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

