Review: Dangerous

Dangerous

by Shannon Hale

Description:

Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There’s no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

From NY Times bestselling author Shannon Hale comes a novel that asks, How far would you go to save the ones you love? And how far would you go to save everyone else?

Review:

I picked this book up because I love the author. The cover didn’t really grab me and neither did the blurb, but I love Shannon Hale and was excited to bring it home from the library. Then I saw the reviews on Goodreads. This isn’t exactly a well loved book which gave me low expectations going into it. Maybe that was a good thing, giving me a chance to enjoy this book.

“Humming the Star Wars theme to encourage myself, I wobbled onto my feet. Sometimes a girl’s gotta provide her own trumpet-heavy heroic soundtrack.”

What I liked:

  • Maisie Danger Brown was a character I liked. She doesn’t have a right hand which plays a part in the story, speaks two languages, and is just all around an awesome girl.
  • Maisie’s feelings are authentic. Sometimes all over the place or not something I’d agree with, but they felt very real for a teenage girl. She has a fun personality.
  • I love Luther! He is clever and just likable. I do wish there was more of him though.
  • This book is a fun cross of sci-fi and super heros. I liked the combination and how they worked together.
  • I figured out a lot of the twists, but in a way that was like -Oh, is this going to happen!?! And not-Gah! This is going to happen. Even though I predicted a lot of them, I liked the journey they took me on.
  • It’s a stand alone. Don’t get me wrong, I love series, but sometimes it’s nice when everything is tied up in one book just like this one is.
  • Almost forgot to add–her parents. I like them. They aren’t around a ton, but they are around and we know that they love Maisie and she loves them. It’s a nice touch.

What I didn’t like about this book:

  • The cover wasn’t my favorite, though I do like it more after reading and understanding the book.
  • I don’t always understand why Maisie does some of the things she does.
  • Wilder was, well, Wilder. He isn’t really my favorite and makes me wonder if this is some of the reason people don’t like this book. In the end though things still make sense, even if I don’t like him.
  • The love story wasn’t the best. I wouldn’t say I hate it, but it wasn’t my favorite either. I think it could have gone better.
  • We only really get to know Wilder before a spoiler happens. I would have liked to get to know the rest of Maisie’s team. Though the book is already quite large, I can understand why they didn’t add it, but I think just a few more details would have helped make the book

“We were quiet, two tiny specks glued down by gravity, peering at a universe that didn’t notice us back.”

This is a great story, though you do have to be willing to suspend your belief for some moments in the book. I’m okay with that. I’d recommend this book to someone who likes a good sci-fi/super hero adventure that doesn’t mind a romance that’s imperfect.

Stars: 4 out of 5

Purchase: Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Apple

Source: Borrowed the Hardback from the Library — Thanks Library!

2 thoughts on “Review: Dangerous

  1. I’ve never read any of Shannon Hale’s books, but I am aware that a lot of people really love her books (her earlier ones anyway). I’m glad you enjoyed this more than others seemed to – I really ought to try out Shannon Hale’s books for myself someday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

