Review: Wires and Nerve

Wires and Nerve

Wires and Nerve #1

by Marissa Meyer

Description:

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

Review:

It’s been a while since I read the Lunar Chronicles, but when I did, I adored them. Iko was one of my favorite characters so when I found out she had her very own book, I had to read it.

This was my first graphic novel and I’m so glad I picked it up. I typically like more color in my illustrations, but I still enjoyed these ones.

“I know I’m not flesh and blood. No nerve endings. No heartbeat. Just a robot with artificial emotions and a disposable body.

I know I’m not really human.

But aces and stars, I wish that I was.

What I liked:

  • Iko. Obvious, but true. I love her personality and in this book it was no different. She’s immensely likable and kick butt.
  • I liked the romantic relationships between all the characters and their significant others. There were little bits here and there that totally made it.
  • The characters were all here, even if I wanted to be around more, it was nice to see glimpses of them.

What I didn’t like:

  • Wasn’t long enough. Seriously, I want more! I wanted more development, more story, more Kinney, just more.
  • The visual of Throne was a lot different than what I pictured. I know they can’t read my mind, but he seemed, I don’t know, just less than what I expected.

“I misread the romantic tension, Didn’t I?”

I know that this is a short review, but it was a short book, so there you go. I highly recommend this book for anyone that enjoyed the Lunar Chronicles. Haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles yet? What are you waiting for?

5 thoughts on “Review: Wires and Nerve

  1. Graphic novels are always fast to read, but never long enough! I’m glad your first experience was so positive 😀

    I haven’t read this yet but I’m really looking forward to it because I loved the Lunar Chronicles

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mailbox Monday: April 3, 2017 | The Book-Filled Day

Leave a Reply

