Review: God of the Sun

God of the Sun

Stella and Sol Book #1

by Kimberly Loth

Description

Crown Princess Zwaantie of Sol harbors a dangerous secret. One she has managed to hide even from the ever present sun. She’s doesn’t want to be queen.

Desperately trying to avoid responsibility she does the unthinkable. She falls in love with a slave.

When Zwaantie’s mother decides it’s time for her to get married, she frantically tries to form a plan to escape the crown. After three attempts on her life, Zwaantie fears that the sun has recognized her plans and is now trying to kill her for being disobedient..

When a high prince from Stella, the barbaric country across the mist, arrives seeking her hand, Zwaantie sees an opportunity to escape her death.

As those around her discover her plans, they unravel and she fears not only for her own life, but the survival of her kingdom.

Review:

Zwaantie is a cool name. Also, I like the cover. It’s a little different with not having a girl on it, but I like it better for that.

Now that that’s out of the way, the book. I liked it. It was a little on the short side, but the substance that was there was enjoyable. It’s an interesting idea having only one side of the planet always dark and one side always light, and with that, one side always having magic, the other food. It makes for good commerce and a good idea for the basis of a story.

I thought it was interesting how the Sun talked to the people, told them what to do, what was right and wrong. I liked how Zwaantie handled that. Lands knows that it would drive me crazy to have someone talking in my head all the time.

The love story in this was, well, I’m rooting for one guy and I hope she picks him in the end. The other one I have suspicions about that could be entirely wrong, but make me like him less. But, this makes me feel something. I always enjoy it when a book brings out an emotion in me.

There are lots of questions I have still about what’s going on, guesses about what’s to come next, and am anxious for the next book to come out. I’m excited to see in on preorder for April 5th. Prince of the Moon.  What’s going to happen? Eep! I want to say more, but don’t want to spoil it. Suffice it to say, I liked this book, just wished there was a little more substance to it.

I recommend God of the Sun for those looking for a good, quick, YA fantasy. I look forward to reading more by this author.

Stars: 4 out of 5

Purchase: Amazon

Source: Purchased the eBook

3 thoughts on “Review: God of the Sun

  1. This sounds so fresh in the YA genre. So many stories just bleed together when I think about them, but this looks pretty unique! I’ll definitely put it on my to-read list!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mailbox Monday: April 10, 2017 | The Book-Filled Day

Leave a Reply

