Review: Glimmers of Thorns

Glimmers of Thorns

A Glimmers Novel #3

by Emma Savant

Read my review of Book #1 & Book #2

Description:

Ever since Imogen walked into the Oracle’s Fountain and out of Olivia’s life, nothing has been right in the city of Portland. Attacks against the Humdrums have escalated, fear is creeping through the city like a poison, and Queen Amani seems to have disappeared off the face of the planet.

But Olivia isn’t alone. Together with her allies, including an angry hedge witch named Isabelle and Isabelle’s beastly boss, she sets out on a quest to save the Glimmering world.

But no quest is meant to be easy, and Olivia’s courage will be tested as she’s thrown into the path of the one enemy she can’t bear to face. As the city begins to spiral into war, Olivia must make a devastating choice—one that will forever redefine what it means to live happily ever after.

Review:

This has been a great series. Not perfect, but pretty darn close. I’m really happy I stumbled across it and decided to pick it up.

Olivia has a lot going on in this book. It’s much more about her than ever before. In fact, the Beauty and the Beast part of the story is very minimal. Though Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairy tales, I was okay with this story being more about Olivia.

Image from memegenerator.net

One thing that was missing in the last book was her family. There was very minimal interactions between them. This book made up for it. Her family was in the action of things and I liked it. It was a nice touch. There was one part at the end that was resolved a little too conveniently, but not enough to turn me off to it.

Olivia didn’t spend any time being a fairy godmother in this one. She was busy with much bigger plans. Though I kind of missed her mentoring someone. I hope that Emma Savant will write more books in the series, and Olivia will get to mentor someone along with everything else she has going on.

Where did Lily go? In the last book, Lily was the mermaid she was the fairy godmother for, but in this book, there wasn’t one mention of Lily. It was a little strange. I would have liked to have scene Lily at least a little. Not enough to make me not like the book though.

The “love story” was…well, I can’t say much without giving anything away. If you’ve read the book, you probably know why I put love story in quotes. It’s not heavy on romance, but it’s there. I was a little worried about the direction it would go in this book, but I was very happy with it.

Imogen. What can I say about her without ruining anything? It was a good fit for the book, though perhaps a little to easy at then end. I would have liked a little more struggle in the last chapter, though one is hinted at, we don’t really see it. Otherwise, I’m entirely satisfied with the way it came together.

There is some mild language throughout, but otherwise, it’s a clean book.

This is a great series that I highly recommend to someone who wants to have fairy tale retellings with only a little of the story mixed in, and a lot of fun new stuff to entertain you.

One thought on “Review: Glimmers of Thorns

  1. Pingback: Interview & Giveaway: Emma Savant | The Book-Filled Day

Leave a Reply

