Review: Haven

Haven

by Katherine Bogle

Princess Haven was never meant to be Queen.

Her immortality has saved her time and time again, but when the last of her royal family dies at her feet, she is next in line to rule a nation on the brink of war. With no formal training on how to be Queen, Haven must rise to the occasion with the help of her best friends, and personal guard, or risk losing everyone she has ever loved.

With war to the West, and no escape to the East, the evil tyrant Kadia sets her sights on the six kingdoms. Haven’s neighbors are quick to fall under the swords of Kadia’s shadow soldiers, leaving a sea of bodies and a clear path to Haven’s only home.

As Kadia’s obsession with Haven mounts, little time remains, and Haven must make a choice; join together with her fellow Royals, and test her immortality in a final stand against the evil Queen, or flee across the sea to a foreign republic in hopes of salvation. Both choices have a cost. Both plans could go awry. Haven must decide quickly, or she might be the only one left.

Review:

I’m going to be honest, I picked this book up because of the cover. I liked it a lot. And then when I read the synopsis, I was hooked. I had a lot of expectations for this book, and I’m not sure they were quite realized.

For starters, I think the synopsis is a little off on what happens in the book. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but things didn’t stay on the same path as I expected from the description. I really wanted to see what the beginning of the description talked about with Haven having the last of her family die at her feet, but we only see it in a quick flashback. It was disappointing because I really wanted to feel what Haven was feeling, to see her anguish in that moment and get to know her better, but it didn’t happen. The rest I can’t say without spoiling, so let’s just say the synopsis is a little off.

Haven is very weak in the beginning, at times unlikeably so. Yet, there’s lots of growth in the book so that’s very forgivable. Haven goes through a lot in this book, and seeing how she handled it was alright. Not as good as I had hoped, but the development was still there. I think I would have enjoyed it more had I connected with Haven, but I was never really able to.

A lot of the book was Haven training. It got a little repetitious after a while, but then, I personally don’t like scenes of just training unless they have something more in them to hold my interest. I’d rather have tension from something more that was lacking in this book.

My favorite part of the book was when Haven was with Kadia. I found the Mad Queen interesting and wished we would have learned more about her. She was intriguing . I wanted to know what made her tick, and we never found out.

The love interest was…random. It felt as if it came out of nowhere. Once it started though, I did enjoy the interactions between Haven and her love interest, I just wanted more of them. Wanted to be really fulfilled by their relationship. Instead, there was a brief satisfaction.

It’s not that this book is bad, it just didn’t live up to my expectations. And note that this book is very, very dark. Torture, an almost rape, violence. I excepted it to have some dark moments based on the blurb, but was surprised at how dark it went. If i had known that before I started, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up.

This would be a good book for someone who likes dark, war driven stories with minimal romance.

Stars: 3 out of 5

Purchase: Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Apple

Source: NetGalley – thank you to the publisher & author for providing it for me to read! In no way did this affect my review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Haven

  1. I’m sorry that this one didn’t live up to your expectations! Though, that being said, I would probably really like this one. And I agree, if a character is weak at the beginning, but becomes stronger though out, I’m okay with the weakness. Thanks for sharing your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

